The journey goes on…

IMG_9776Photo by: Kristina Gove, Portland, Oregon

Life is a journey, is it not? Whether we are commuting to work or going to the grocery store or taking the kids to school, we are journeying everywhere. We must get from point A to point B in the least possible time. But the problem with that is that there is potential to forget what the journey is all about. It’s not about point A or point B it is about the thousands of moments in between that determine the outcome of our destination.

I have been on this journey for twenty-one years now. In the past three years I’ve lived in Florida, Colorado, Spain, Washington, and California. I have driven from the West coast to the East coast and touched both oceans, all in one summer. I’ve driven the entire length of the West coast one and a half times. I have made new friends and lost old ones. I attended and graduated from the University of Colorado Denver. I traveled to Paris, London, and Madrid. I watched my brother get married to a beautiful woman who loves Jesus a whole lot. I watched my sister walk across the linoleum stage to receive a Bachelor in Equine Science and in Business. I wept and mourned as I saw families lose loved ones. And still the journey goes on…

Each of these events could be framed as point A and point B destinations, but I think to classify them as such would be contrary to the point. My point A began from the moment the Lord thought to create me. The moment when he delicately placed each curl on my head and each streak of green and blue in my eyes and every vein and tissue was put into place. That was my moment. That was the moment that I began.

Now I am somewhere in between point A and point B trying to capture and cherish every moment that I can. I do not want to miss out these moments. I don’t want to miss the moment when I meet eyes with a woman I don’t know in a coffee shop as she smiles at me, creases forming at the corners of her brown eyes – knowing that I may never see her again – but maybe she just needed someone to see her; maybe I just did. I don’t want to miss the moment of sitting in the family room with my family and friends laughing and playing games. I don’t want to miss her face when she looks at me with an attempt at a smile and tears in her eyes. I don’t want to miss any moment to love, to cherish, to hold close those who I love. My point B lies in the moment when I kneel at my Father’s feet singing his praises and basking in his glory. Where is the place that my father has prepared for me in the Heavens? I don’t yet know but isn’t that the beauty of it? If life is a journey is it not also an adventure?

Each moment in the past three years could have been a final destination, but how many moments I would have missed spending with my father weeping for the things that break his heart and rejoicing in the moments of his glory shining forth. The compilation of every moment in my life is what makes this life worth living and worth hoping for and worth fighting for and the journey goes on…

About boojones

Welcome to my blog! Each day I strive to live my life for Christ. This blog is a compilation of the things that I have learned and which God is continually teaching me. I named my blog after Romans 12:12 which says, "Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer." This verse has been something for me to stand by these last few years and I hope it is an encouragement for you as well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

